Subscribe to the newsletter

2003 – Greek Cup winner

Seven years later Panathinaikos became once again Greek Cup winner in the Larissa Final Four. Zeljko Obradovic had already won Greek and European Championship titles with the “Greens”, but not the Greek Cup title until then. In 2003 he made it by steering the “Greens” to the final after first eliminating Xanthi, and then Olympiakos in its home arena. In the Final Four semifinal, Panathinaikos defeated Iraklio, only to repeat victory over Aris in the final game in the Larissa Neapolis indoor arena that was filled to capacity. Fragiskos Alvertis emerged as Final Four MVP, scoring 22pts in the final and three 3-pointers.


Round B’

29/9/2002 Panathinaikos-Xanthi SC 88-53


6/10/2002 Olympiakos-Panathinaikos 62-73

Final Four (5-6/4, Larissa)


4/4/2003 Iraklio -Panathinaikos 83-94


5/4/2003 Aris SC-Panathinaikos 76-81

Referees: Voreadis - Spyridonos

Panathinaikos (Obradovic): Alvertis 22(3), Kalaitzis, Papadopoulos 6, Lakovic 14(1), Fotsis 9, Balogiannis, Kutluay 20(3), Middleton 10, Tsartsaris, McDonald, Vidalis

Aris (Alexandris): Solomon 8(1), Gregov 15(3), Raicevic 4, Lappas 9(1), P. Nikolaidis 11(1), Charitopoulos, Gagaloudis, Agelov, Licholitov 5, Stack 12, Grgat 12, Merachtzakis