Subscribe to the newsletter

1977 – Greek Champion

After a brief “break” in 1976, Panathinaikos came back stronger in the championship to win one more title with just one loss (21-1, 1933-1640). That single loss came when the “Greens” were defeated by Aris by a single point (66-67). Kontos found himself once again a spot in the top scorers’ board, ranking fourth with 507 points.

The lineup of the championship team: Kontos, Kefalos, Koroneos, Kokolakis, Papazoglou, Papantoniou, Batis, Ioannou, Iordanidis, Haikalis, St. Kontos, Kakogeorgiou, Kabourakis, Petrakakis. Coach: K. Anastasatos