Subscribe to the newsletter

2000 – Greek Champion

Panathinaikos continued its title-rich course in the next season too. This was Zeljko Obradovic’s first year at the helm of the “clover” and he led it to winning its second European championship and then yet another Greek championship. With a 21-5 run (1990-1681) Panathinaikos found itself tying with Olympiakos in first place of the regular season ranking. In the playoffs it faced Iraklis (88-61, 84-82), and AEK (79-69, 67-77, 88-60) and in the final it went up against PAOK (85-58, 69-62, 76-63), since the “double-headed eagle of the North” had eliminated the “reds”. Dejan Bodiroga and Zeljko Obradovic were vote Greek Championship MVP and Best Coach, respectively. Bodiroga ranked fourth in the championship top scorers’ list (452pts), second in the assists list (106) and the player- economy(77).

The lineup of the championship team: Alvertis, Kalaitzis, Koch, Rogers, Fotsis, Gentile, Bodiroga, Boudouris, Rebraca, Burke, Katash, Karagoutis, Maglos, Glyniadakis. Coach: Zeljko Obradovic