Subscribe to the newsletter

2006 – Greek Champion

Losing was not an option for Panathinaikos in the playoffs. A 9-0 run led it to the title, while in the regular season it was defeated only twice (32-2). In the first round of the playoffs, Panathinaikos easily eliminated Panionios with a 2-0 run (86-69, 104-86), then followed the semifinals and Aris (3-0, 83-67, 93-71, 79-72) just before time came for the finals against Olympiakos and for Obradovic’s players to make a 3-0 sweep to win the title (82-76, 79-68, 82-70). Spanoulis and Diamantidis, both playing for Panathinaikos at the time, were named to the Greek Championship First Team, with the latter also being voted Greek Championship MVP. This was Diamantidis’ first, but definitely not last MVP title as player for the “clover”.

The lineup of the championship team: Alvertis, Kalaitzis, Papanikolaou, Lakovic, Batiste, Femerling, Chatzivrettas, Spanoulis, Tsartsaris, Diamantidis, Scepanovic, Tomasevic, Sakota, Hunter. Coach: Zeljko Obradovic