Subscribe to the newsletter

2008 – Greek Champion

In 2008, Panathinaikos recorded its fourth consecutive double. Once again, the end of the regular season found the “Greens” at the top of the ranking, giving them the home advantage and reaching the finals by defeating Olympia Larissa by 2-0 and 2-0 against Panionios this time (74-55, 78-58. The 3-2 run (83-79, 55-71, 78-67, 57-59, 90-76) in the finals over Olympiakos led for yet another year the “Greens” to the title. Spanoulis and Diamantidis were once again named to the Greek Championship First Team, with the latter being voted for the third consecutive year Greek Championship MVP.

The lineup of the championship team: Alvertis, Perperoglou, Spanoulis, Becirovic, Batiste, Zizic, Chatzivrettas, Dikoudis, Tsartsaris, Diamantidis, Winston, Tomasevic, Tatarounis, Jasikevicius. Coach: Zeljko Obradovic