Subscribe to the newsletter

2009 – Greek Champion

Panathinaikos celebrated its second Triple Crown, its fifth double, the 7th consecutive championship title, but also its 11th championship in the last 12 years. The year ended in the best possible way with Panathinaikos, having already won the Greek Cup and its fifth European title, also winning the Greek championship after overpowering Olympiakos by 3-1!

Panathinaikos landed second in the regular season ranking spots (22-4), with Olympiakos in the top spot (25-1) and the home advantage. Nonetheless, in the “clover” they knew that they could turn the situation around and celebrate yet another title. In the playoffs, they eliminated PAOK by 2-0 (97-54, 82-78), Aris by 3-0 (84-80, 66-53, 71-69), and then it was time for the finals. Panathinaikos got off on the right foot showing its intentions from the get go. In the first final game, it prevailed over Olympiakos by 69-67 in the “Peace and Friendship” Stadium and the home advantage now came to its side. Without any difficulty whatsoever, as witnessed by the final score of 91-64, Panathinaikos doubled its victories in the series (2-0). Olympiakos closed the gap to 2-1 (Ο Ολυμπιακός 74-70), only for Panathinaikos to celebrate the title in its own “home” in the fourth final by winning 94-81. This was the 30th championship title for the “clover”! The Greek Championship MVP and First Team were almost “all green”, with four out of the five First Team players competing for Panathinaikos: Dimitris Diamantidis, Vassilis Spanoulis (MVP), Sarunas Jasikevicius, and Nikola Pekovic. Zeljko Obradovic was voted Coach of the Year.

The lineup of the championship team: Alvertis, Kecman, Spanoulis, Perperoglou, Batiste, Fotsis, Chatzivrettas, Νίκολας, Tsartsaris, Diamantidis, Pekovic, Sakota, Verginis, Shermadini, Jasikevicius. Coach: Zeljko Obradovic