Subscribe to the newsletter

2010 – Greek Champion

It happened before, in 1999… so why not do it again? Panathinaikos proved in practice that there is no such thing as a home advantage putting stress on it, and won for the second time in its history the Greek Championship in the “Peace and Friendship” Stadium.

The year was not the easiest possible for the “Greens”, since for the second consecutive season the team was “tormented” by injuries. It is certain, though, that everyone will agree that it was worth it making it through this tough year, since it ended with the players, and not just them, singing “oe, oe, championship title inside the Palais” again 11 years after the first one.  All the mishaps did not prevent the team from striving and keeping trying, and ultimately regrouping after having being eliminated from the Euroleague competition way too early and seeing its fans stand by its side in difficult times. The passion for winning the championship title was way high. Panathinaikos landed at the top of the regular season ranking by setting a record, since it had but a single loss (23-1). When time came for the playoffs, it began by two clean sweeps: the first against Panionios with a 2-0 run (92-57, 107-59) and then against Panellinios with a 3-0 run 3-0 (88-58, 75-73, 75-65). The fourth final that settled the title lasted four hours. Zeljko Obradovic and his players withstood it, knowing that they were better in the court and proved it, as they also proved that they had tremendous mental reserves that led the “clover” to winning the trophy. They got the team to its 31st Greek Championship title in the history of the club, its eighth consecutive one, its 12th in the last 13 years. The final score of 69-76 in Faliro, gave Panathinaikos the victory and put it on the champion’s throne with a 3-1 run in the finals series (73-54, 72-79, 79-70, 76-69). For historical purposes, let it be noted that the officials stopped the game against the home team at 38’57’’ in the game and game was granted to the Greek Champions with a final score of 0-20.

 Mike Batiste, Dimitris Diamantidis and Drew Nikolas were named to the Greek Championship First Team, with the former also being voted Greek Championship MVP after seven years in Greece and Panathinaikos.

The lineup of the championship team: Tepic, Spanoulis, Perperoglou, Batiste, Fotsis, Nicholas, Tsartsaris, Diamantidis, Pekovic, Calathes, Shermadini, Verginis, Bogris, Jasikevicius, Golemac, Haislip. Coach: Zeljko Obradovic