Subscribe to the newsletter

2013 – Greek Champion

Panathinaikos was “born” to make history. And that is exactly what it did on yet another occasion. Its Champion DNA functioned, even though the team was built from scratch. The page was turned, but the clover was what bloomed again and actually quite impressively: Behind a 0-3 run in the finals versus Olympiacos, breaking the SEF home court twice.  

Panathinaikos experienced a different summer in 2012. The administration reins were taken over by Dimitris Giannakopoulos. There was a change in the technical leadership after 13 years with Zeljko Obradovic giving his place to Argyris Pedoulakis. From the body of players only the captain Dimitris Diamantidis and the player the longest on the team, Kostas Tsartsaris remained. A tough summer commenced, the team was rebuilt from the beginning and many were they who failed to hide their skepticism. Thankfully, Panathinaikos was never a team of great statements, but of bombastic actions. Gradually the puzzle was laid out. Down the road certain pieces of it had to be substituted. Andy Panko, Hilton Armstrong, Derwin Kitchen, Jason Kapono, Marcus Banks left in order for James Gist, Ramel Curry and RT Guinn to come along.

At the end of the regular season Panathinaikos ranked second in the final lay out. It swept Ikaros to get by its first obstacle (2-0), acted respectively when facing Panionios next (3-0), high time for the finals to approach. The Greens committed step one towards the 33rd title in the history of the championship, at the first final in SEF, as they would prevail 64-51. At the OAKA win number 2 arrived behind final 63-52. The third final turned out to be dramatic. Panathinaikos had the lead at the SEF (72-76). 1’27’’ pending on the game clock riots broke out, a decision to be made quite some time later, for the official interruption of the encounter. For yet another time in its history Panathinaikos celebrated a championship at the SEF!

The champion team synthesis: Schortsanitis, Bramos, Curry, Maciulis, Ukic, Lasme, Tsartsaris, Diamantidis, Gist, Guinn, Xanthopoulos, Giannopoulos, Skordilis, Charalampopoulos, Diamantakos. During the season Hilton Armostrong, Derwin Kitchen, Andy Panko, Jason Kapono and Marcus Banks also competed. Head Coach: Argyris Pedoulakis